How to Open a Dispensary in Virginia (in 2022)
Are you wondering how to open a cannabis dispensary in Virginia? This page is intended to keep you up to date on the latest news and information relevant to opening a cannabis business in Virginia. This includes helpful insights on what is to come next for Virginia.
On Wednesday, April 7, 2021, the Virginia General Assembly voted to approve Gov. Ralph Northam’s proposed amendments to change the effective date of the adult-use legalization bill (HB 2312/SB 1406) from 2024 to July 1, 2021. As such, Virginia is the 17th American state, and the first state in the South, to legalize adult cannabis consumption. Here’s why:
- In a recent poll, 68% of Virginia voters (including majorities of Republicans and Democrats) were in favor of legalizing marijuana for recreational use by adults in the state.
- Speaker Eileen Filler-Corn praised the House and the Senate for their “strong step” in legalizing cannabis sale and possession within the state, adding that this move will make VA’s criminal justice system “fairer,” while helping to end the targeting of people of color over cannabis possession.
- VA’s identical bills, HB 2312 and SB 1406 will establish a system for legalizing, taxing, and regulating adult-use cannabis. Marijuana legalization in Virginia could result in hundreds of millions of dollars in tax revenue.
- The legalization of possession of up to one ounce of marijuana
- The start of legal cannabis sales
- Regulations going into effect to control Virginia’s marijuana marketplace
And as it pertains to Virginia Dispensaries:
- Stores will be geographically dispersed, with their dispersion undergoing reassessment for every 100 licenses issued.
- Preference will be given to social equity applicants from July 1, 2023, until January 1, 2024, and regulators will waive a percentage of fees.
- Cannabis Control Authority – This will create an authorized body in July 2021 for regulating the adult-use cannabis market in Virginia. A five-member Board of Directors will be in charge of issuing regulations, granting, suspending, or revoking licenses, and issuing fines.
During their 2022 session, Virginia legislators will consider whether to move the date when marijuana sales become legal. There have been proposals to move the deadline up to January 1, 2023, although the possibility of shifting it to July 1, 2022, has also been raised.
The Opportunity Size
Marijuana Business Daily projects that the recreational market in Virginia will generate $400 million to $500 million by 2022 and $1.2 billion-$1.4 billion by 2025. With nearly 9 million residents, it’s evident that Virginia, the 12th most populous state, will be one of the larger markets to start a cannabis business.
Based on findings from the Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission, Virginia’s marijuana industry could eventually create more than 18,000 jobs and could bring in an estimated $177–$300 million (more than twice the amount the state of Colorado gets) in net tax revenue if the state were to set the marijuana sales tax at 25 percent ($147–$250 million at 20 percent).
Local Cannabis Restrictions & Laws
Are you looking to open a cannabis business in Virginia? You must consider what is allowed in the town or municipality you intend on starting your marijuana business. Local municipalities can determine hours, implement zoning and land use rules, and opt out of retail stores by voter referendum. This may be a challenge when the time comes that you want to set up a cannabis business in the state. You can expect us to keep this section updated with any particular local restrictions and challenges in the news as this market opens up.
In 2017, the state passed a law allowing patients suffering from intractable epilepsy to access cannabidiol (CBD) or THC-A oil. The following year, the law was significantly expanded to allow any medical condition (including Multiple Sclerosis, Parkinson’s Disease, Cancer, and Crohn’s Disease) to qualify; in 2019 and 2020, additional improvements were made. In 2021, the General Assembly passed legislation that added whole plant, “botanical” cannabis to the program (HB 2218/SB 1333) and protects patients from termination or disciplined by their employers for medical cannabis consumption away from work (HB 1862). In short, Virginia is the 34th state to have a comprehensive medical cannabis law.
Effective July 1, 2022, patients will no longer be necessary to register pursuant to HB 933/SB 671. After a patient has their written certification from a licensed practitioner they will be authorized to shop at Virginia dispensaries.
Since then, Virginia’s medical cannabis program has grown to about 9,000 patients, with nearly 500 new applications submitted each week. Applications for Pharmaceutical Processor Permits for HSA I closed on December 4, 2020, and the awarding of conditional approvals will be finalized on March 30, 2021.
Here’s the current information on the requirements to get started with your Medicinal Marijuana Business in Virginia.
According to the Commonwealth of Virginia’s state website, the law authorizes the Virginia Board of Pharmacy (Board) to grant “conditional approval for no more than one pharmaceutical processor for each of the five health service areas. Those health service areas are established by Virginia’s Board of Health.”
How much will it cost to open a dispensary in Virginia? Interested applicants must submit:
Application fee: $10,000 non-refundable, along with the initial application.
Initial permit fee: $60,000, along with the application and other required documentation.
An application for an initial permit required documentation, and any reinspection fees (if applicable), must be submitted to the Board prior to the inspection.
Recreational Use Legalization
As stated above, Virginia’s Democratic-controlled Legislature passed a bill legalizing the possession of small amounts of marijuana. Virginia Gov. Ralph Northam’s push to move up the timeline for the marijuana legalization bill (which was originally 2024) was driven by the need to “correct the over-policing of Black Virginians in possession crimes.” Here are the links to Virginia’s HB 2312 and SB 1406 bills.
Requirements To Get a Cannabis Business License In Virginia
Here is what is known so far in terms of the requirements in order to open a dispensary in Virginia.
Recreational License Requirements
As per the marijuana legalization bill, a five-member Board of Directors will approve labs, as well as establish the number of licensees. Without counting existing medical cannabis businesses and hemp processors, these numbers could not exceed:
- 400 dispensary licenses
- 25 wholesale licenses
- 450 cultivator licenses
- 60 product manufacturer licenses
There will also be two types of cultivation licenses:
- Class A licenses are capped at a certain number of square feet or plants.
- Class B would be limited to 1% THC.
The board will establish criteria to evaluate new licenses based on the density of the community’s retail stores. It will also take any negative public health outcomes in the community into consideration.
The Virginia Cannabis Control Authority may begin accepting applications for licenses on July 1, 2023. From that date until December 31, 2023, preference will be given to qualified “social equity applicants,” defined as 66% or more owners (a) with a prior cannabis conviction or a close relative with a cannabis conviction, (c) living in an area with disproportionate cannabis arrests or under economic distress, or (c) who graduated from a Virginia HBCU.
It is apparent that apart from direct cannabis expertise, there are many other topics that you must be well-versed in if you plan to run a cannabis business in the state. Any gap in your knowledge will likely affect your long-term success.
By adding yourself to our Virginia Cannabis Mailing List (below), we will keep you updated on how to open a dispensary in Virginia and all relevant VA news that matters, not so easy to find news, and commentary based on Virginia Legalization below.